Cloudex

Bandcamp Friday, 10-04-24

It's Bandcamp Friday, the first after Cohost shuttered. In another new first, it's the first that Bandcamp Friday's been sponsored. Like all the recent curveballs with Bandcamp, I'm cynical about this addition. I can't help but feel like its an attempt for the site's current owners to squeeze some dollars out of what started as an initiative to support musicians. Which maybe that's fine - it is unobtrusive and easy to ignore this month - but it is another blemish on an otherwise great day.

That's enough griping, though. Here's what I grabbed this month!

UFO 50, by Eirik Suhrke. I've watched so many streams of UFO 50 on Twitch, and at this point the only reason I haven't cracked open the game(s) myself is I've got too many other games on my plate and not enough time. But I always have time for music, and Suhrke's soundtrack(s) for UFO 50 are perfect. He nails the feel of putting on an NES or MSX game and just falling into a electronic soundscape.

Donuts Mind If I Do, by CHAI. I caught the title track, Donuts Mind If I Do on WFMU's Wake with Clay Pigeon this week and was delighted to see it's available on Bandcamp. It's a silly lil' pop song that's just a delight to listen to. As an extra bonus, the second song's a cover of Plastic Love, an all time banger itself!

MO L​É​AN, by RÓIS. I forget where I first found RÓIS - I think through a WFMU show, but it honestly might have been through the Bandcamp app - but I love her efforts playing with hymns and Celtic musical traditions and mixing them with sounds pulled from artists like Björk or Kate Bush. I've been excited to grab this since it was announced a few weeks back, and now it's here!

Cosmic Pilgrimate: The Klyfta Tapes 1972 - 1975, by Klyfta. I found this one from another Cohost exodus blog, Morning Music, hosted by Misty, aka @dog. I love old spacey, jazz fusion and prog experiments from the 1970s, particularly the Jean-Luc Ponty, and this plays in the same space as those old albums. I haven't given this a full listen yet, but the first track - Cosmos Eternal - was enough to sell me on the album.

And that's it for this month! Will I figure out how to show embeds by the next time Bandcamp Friday rolls around, to make it easier for folks to listen to the tunes? Will I have figured out how (or if I even can) host comments on my blog? Who knows! But it'd be nice if I can, if only so y'all can share what you picked up as well.

#bandcamp #bandcamp friday #music