Cloudex

Vacations are good, but I have driven so much

My autumn vacation wrapped-up today. I had a delightful week driving around Maine with my best friend, taking in a variety of sights. We hit up a ghost tour, visited a historic fort, made it to the Cumberland Fair and watched competitive horse log-pulling, and had a beautiful day at Acadia. It was a wonderful time, and I thank her immensely for getting me to actually explore the state I moved cross-country to.

But holy shit. I am tired. I have driven so much this week. With the exception of the first day, I think we averaged 3 hours a day on the road. And I think in all that time I got one full night of sleep. And each sleepless night was different. My favorite was last night, where I kept waking-up exactly as soon as the 70 minute anime OVA I put on to help me fall asleep wrapped-up, and I only could quiet my thoughts long enough to fall back asleep by playing the OVA again. I repeated this three or four times.

I need to see how draining work is when I return to the office tomorrow, but assuming it's not too bad I hope to get back to writing more. I mentioned it in my send-off post on Cohost, but I am working on a post about Lisa M. Bitel's Otherworld. I also need to update my RPG Idea Spreadsheet with the last couple books I've read and get back to work on the next adventure for my Beyond the Wall campaign. I also think I'm nearing the end of Crystal Project and may write-up some brief thoughts about it.

My long, roller-coaster ride of a September is over! October will still be busy, but I hope to write more!

#driving #sleep #vacation